A story of great lords in the seigniorial system, one that still intrigues young and old.
The Île-des-Moulins historical site does a brilliant job of painting a picture of the past in a contemporary way. Five restored buildings-flour, saw and carding mills dating back to the nineteenth century, plus the former bakery and seigniorial office–reveal the reality of daily life for people of that era. A short distance away, visitors can also tour Maison Bélisle, one of Terrebonne’s oldest houses (built circa 1760) and home at one time to the king’s ammunitions officer. Spanning an entire chapter in the region’s history, the site’s story is told in a lively, colorful manner. After the tour, visitors can take a ride on a pontoon boat or stroll through Vieux-Terrebonne, stopping to try one of its many restaurants with their myriad taste sensations. In august, be sure to also take in the local wine festival. History buffs will be thrilled to know that Île-des-Moulins is the second largest historic restoration site in Québec. Another reason to take the plunge into history.