The Land of Six Seasons


For the Atikamekws, each change in light and temperature marks the arrival of a new season. This is why Mauricie celebrates six seasons each year, in perfect harmony with nature.

Pipon, when it is cold and the snow stays on the ground.
Sikon, when the snow begins to melt.
Miroskamin, when the earth is bare.
Nipin, when the air is hot and humid.
Takwakin, when the leaves die.
Pitci pipon, when the snow falls.